TALAKAG - the etymology of which came from the Bisayan dialect LAKAG meaning "to go after” or
“follow in pursuit” and the prefix TA denoting “fondness in doing such”.
In other words, Talakag means “fondness in giving pursuit”.

Friday, 26 March 2010

Campaign Period for the Local Polls Kicks Off

At the start of the 45-day election campaign for local candidates, I was woken up by Jess Paras’ jingle “Nobody, nobody but Jess” being played at the Plaza at the crack of dawn! Gosh, does this guy never sleep?
Jess Paras, who is seeking a seat in Congress, has certainly been real busy today. He held his first proclamation rally in Talakag tonight with “thousands” of supporters in attendance (some coming the other 7 Municipalities comprising Bukidnon’s 1st District, namely: Baungon, Libona, Malitbog, Manolo Fortich, Sumilao, Kalilangan and Pangantucan). Jess was accompanied by his family on stage as he shared his vision and enumerated his 10-point priority list for District 1. Jess’ speech was concluded with a fireworks display followed by a variety show featuring local talents.
I found it interesting to witness such occasion again after years of absence from Talakag because my last election campaign experience here was way way back in the 70s.

Monday, 22 March 2010

Miss Divine Grace G. Sabang Bags the Miss Talakag 2010 Title

MAVEMPCO’s Candidate No. 6, Miss Divine Grace G. Sabang was crowned Miss Talakag 2010 at the Pageant tonight. She also won minor awards, including Best in Talaandig Costume, Miss Sunsilk and Miss Close-Up Smile. Her prizes included 20,000 pesos cash, a trophy, bouquet of flowers and Body Line Gift Certificate. She also automatically became a Negros Navigation Princess and was awarded a trophy, bouquet of flowers and a Round Trip ticket for 2 to any destination in the Philippines served by Negros Navigation.
Miss Talakag 1st Runner-up is Stanfilco Dole Philippines’ Candidate No. 7, Miss Naomi Grace A. Allder was awarded prizes including 15,000 pesos cash, a trophy, bouquet of flowers and Body Line Gift Certificate. Miss Allder also won special awards, including Miss Congeniality and Miss Photogenic, and minor awards, including Miss Ponds, Miss Vaseline and Best in Fun Wear.

Miss Talakag 2nd Runner-up is Department of Education’s Candidate No. 1, Miss Nona Fe O. Simene was awarded prizes including 10,000 pesos cash, a trophy, bouquet of flowers and Body Line Gift Certificate. Miss Simene also won the Miss Talent special award and minor awards, including Best in Swimwear and Best in Long Gown.

Congratulations to the winners and well done!

Saturday, 20 March 2010

The Search for Miss Talakag 2010 Begins

Tonight the candidates for Miss Talakag 2010 were officially presented to the public at the Talent Night Competition in the Plaza.

Candidate No. 1 Miss Nona Fe O. Simene
(Department of Education)
Candidate No. 2 Miss Analyn G. Madjos
(Asian Hills Bank, Inc.)
Candidate No. 3 Miss Stephanie Jane P. Mapano
(Liga ng mga Barangay)
Candidate No. 4 Miss Phoebe Angelique U. Seno
(Sangguniang Kabataan)
Candidate No. 5 Miss Remielyn B. Oranda
(National Irrigation Administration)
Candidate No. 6 Miss Divine Grace G. Sabang
Candidate No. 7 Miss Naomi Grace A. Allder
(Stanfilco Dole Philippines)
Candidate No. 8 Miss Chloe B. Doyogan
(Paras Farms)

Each candidate had the opportunity to showcase their talents and entertain the public. I’m sure that everyone in the audience had their own personal favourites but at the end of the evening the Miss Talent title went to Candidate No.1, Miss Nona Fe O. Simene, representing the Department of Education. Congratulations!

Friday, 19 March 2010

Diether Ocampo Wows Linggo Ng Talakag 2010

Marne Amoguis (Mayor Macapayag’s daughter) called me this morning inviting me to come round the Municipal Hall as a VIP in the person of Diether Ocampo, an actor/celebrity, is making a courtesy call to the Mayor’s Office. I thought “WHO”? It's now obvious that I’ve been away from the Philippines too long that I don’t even recognize any of the new actors/singers/celebrities post the 1990s.

Anyway, Diether Ocampo made a surprise appearance in Talakag today to the delight of his fans. Diether and his party accompanied by Fr. Kits had lunch with Mayor Macapayag before traveling up to Miarayon to visit a Foundation he helped put up to build a school for the children of Indigenous People. How remarkable!

Click here for more information on Diether Ocampo.

Source: Kapamilya Photos

Wednesday, 17 March 2010

Grand Opening of Linggo Ng Talakag 2010

Linggo Ng Talakag 2010 officially opened today. It started with a traditional Bukidnon “Pamuhat” at the crack of dawn which unfortunately I missed because I slept in. Then a parade followed at 8:00am which was headed by a motorcade and the Kaamulan dancers, followed by government agencies, civic organisations, schools, and private companies. So many joined the parade; they almost outnumbered the spectators.

After the Opening Program at the plaza, with presentations from the Kaamulan dancers and the schools, the Agro Fair was officially opened by Congressman Pancrudo with “Cutting of the Ribbon” assisted by Mayor Macapayag. I was a bit disappointed that almost half of the Agro Booths/Stalls were still empty by this time. For the rest of the Booths/Stalls that opened for business, not much there either.
A Booth/Stall worth visiting today was the Tourism Booth that displayed Mrs. Flora dela Torre’s traditional Bukidnon costumes and accessories made with beads, coins and bells; the Indigenous People’s Banig mats and bags; Miarayon Pure Coffee; and, of course, the Talakag One Town One Product (OTOP) Carrot Juice.
Another busy Booth/Stall today was the BIGHOOP Livelihood Projects run in conjunction with HELP Foundation by Mr. Keith Hooper with his wife Pat Bigcas. Their products included Kambingan, Barbecue and Handicrafts.
The candidates for Miss Talakag 2010 were also on parade. I later caught up with them at the Municipal Hall while they were rehearsing a dance number they will perform later this week.
Watch out for more news, updates and photos about Linggo Ng Talakag 2010 celebrations.