TALAKAG - the etymology of which came from the Bisayan dialect LAKAG meaning "to go after” or
“follow in pursuit” and the prefix TA denoting “fondness in doing such”.
In other words, Talakag means “fondness in giving pursuit”.

Saturday, 26 December 2009

Lanterns Galore

The Talakag Municipal Hall is currently showcasing Lanterns made from local native materials. What a refreshing change!
Made from Corn Husks.
Made from Rice Husks.
Made from Banana Leaves.
Made from Corn Cobs 1.
Made from Corn Cobs 2.
Made from Ipil-ipil Pods.

To those of you who can't make it to Talakag this Christmas, hope you'll enjoy the display here. Merry Christmas Talakag!

Friday, 11 December 2009

Christmas Spirit in Talakag

The Christmas lights are now on display at the Plaza and the Municipal Hall in Talakag every night. Very soon all the trees around the Plaza will be decorated and lit as each Barangay and some Business Establishments join the Annual Christmas Tree Decoration Contest. It’s nice to see so many people going out and strolling around the Plaza in the evenings and meeting up with friends amidst the bright and colourful display. A far cry from the old Talakag since it wasn't until the early 1970s that the town started to have electricity.

If you are thinking about visiting or coming home to Talakag, plan to be here around the 22nd of December when the Municipal Carol Singing and Lantern Contests will be held. However, I have yet to get confirmation whether there will be similar contests at Barangay level.

Wednesday, 2 December 2009

May 2010 Election: List of Candidates for the Municipality of Talakag

Today, I visited the COMELEC Office of Talakag to obtain the names of candidates seeking election come May 2010:

Macapayag, Nestor - Mayor
Sulatan, Renato - Vice Mayor
Gayonan, Susan - SB
Pacuno, Abdon - SB
Lladas, Raul - SB
Sansanan, Rosenio - SB
Samontao, Morillo - SB
Seno, Wilfredo - SB
Factura, Vergito - SB
Monje, Angelo - SB

Noble, Amado Sr - Vice Mayor
Noble, Amado Jr - SB
Haguingan, Fidel - SB
Janao, Pedro Jr - SB
Ciervo, Daniel Fabian - SB
Borreta, Eugenio - SB
Ngaso, Felizardo - SB
Sabang, Yolanda - SB
Mapano, Rey - SB

Santiago, Timoteo - SB
Bigcas, Alberto - SB
Madrigal, Lito - SB

Romulo, Rodrigo - Mayor
Tinoy, Rodney - Mayor
Lanado, Emeterio Jr - SB
Taqueban, Carlos - SB
Gozo,Eleazar - SB
Tianzon, Romeo - SB
Mapano, Freniel - SB
Palangga, Thomas - SB

For a list of candidates for various Bukidnon provincial seats, please go to Bukidnon Online.